RFA Thanks Congressional Champions for Year-Round E15 Legislation

The Renewable Fuels Association today thanked members of the House and Senate for collaborating on a legislative remedy to the recent court decision striking down year-round sales of the E15 ethanol blend. Leading the effort in the Senate are Sens. Deb Fischer (R-NE) and Amy Klobuchar (D-MN); in the House, Reps. Angie Craig (D-IA) and Adrian Smith (R-IL). In the House, the bill is called the Year-Round Fuel Choice Act; in the Senate, it is the Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act

“We thank these leaders for their quick work following the July 2 ruling of the D.C. Circuit,” said RFA President and CEO Geoff Cooper. “These bills will make it abundantly clear that the intent of Congress is to allow the year-round use of lower-cost, lower-carbon, American-made E15. Increasing drivers’ access to higher-level blends like E15 remains a top priority for RFA, and we are committed to working with these leaders in Congress, and the Biden administration, to make that a reality.”

On July 2, The D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals reversed a 2019 rule by the Environmental Protection Agency that lifted outdated restrictions on the sale of E15. The case was a challenge by oil refiners to the rulemaking that allowed the year-round sale of E15. E15 sales continue into this summer while the appeal process takes place, and this legislation can also provide a more permanent fix to ensure certainty in the liquid fuel market. 

About the Renewable Fuels Association

The Renewable Fuels Association is the leading trade association for America’s ethanol industry, working to drive expanded demand for American-made renewable fuels and bio-products worldwide.
RFA’s members are working to help America become cleaner, safer, more energy independent and economically secure. Learn more online at https://ethanolrfa.org/

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.