GROWMARK Foundation Announces Scholarship Recipients

Bloomington, Ill. (AgPR) June 9, 2021 — Fifteen agriculture students have been selected as the fifth class of recipients of the GROWMARK Foundation scholarship.

More than 180 students from across the United States and Ontario, Canada, applied for the award. Applications were evaluated by a panel of agribusiness professionals, and the funds are available for the fall 2021 semester.

“We are pleased to provide financial support to these fifteen outstanding students,” said Amy Bradford, GROWMARK Manager, Corporate Communications and Manager of the GROWMARK Foundation. “Their pursuit of higher education in agriculture will position them well to potentially become a part of the GROWMARK System in the future, whether that may be employment at GROWMARK or an FS member cooperative, or as a farmer-owner of their local cooperative.”

Scholarship recipients, in alphabetical order, are:

Madeline Altherr,
 of Wapakoneta, Ohio. She is studying animal science at Wilmington College.

Mikara Anderson, of Three Springs, Pennsylvania. She is studying animal science at the Pennsylvania State University.

Grace Bjustrom,
 of Eldridge, Iowa. She is studying agricultural engineering at Iowa State University.

Christopher Burch, of Fayetteville, Pennsylvania. He is studying environmental biology at Hood College.

Caden Cockburn, of Johnston City, Illinois. He is studying animal science and agribusiness economics at John A. Logan College.

Danika Gordon, of Whitewood, South Dakota. She is studying agribusiness at South Dakota State University.

Kathryn Grant, of Carrollton, Missouri. She is studying agricultural communications at Missouri State University.

Sheridan Hank, of Aledo, Illinois. She is studying agricultural business at Lake Land College.

Julia Heller, of Champaign, Illinois. She is studying animal sciences at the University of Illinois.

Ellie Kidwell,
 of Walhonding, Ohio. She is studying animal sciences and industry at Kansas State University.

Clayton Loyd, of Mount Vernon, Iowa. He is studying agricultural engineering at Iowa State University.

Grant Norfleet, of Mexico, Missouri. He is studying agricultural education – communication and leadership at the University of Missouri – Columbia.

Avery Plote,
 of Leland, Illinois. He is studying agricultural leadership, education, and communications at the University of Illinois.

Jenna Spangler, of Marietta, Illinois. She is studying hospitality management at the University of Illinois.

Lauren Thompson, of Woodville, Wisconsin. She is studying animal science and industry at Kansas State University.


GROWMARK is an agricultural cooperative serving almost 400,000 customers across North America, providing agronomy, energy, facility engineering and construction, and logistics products and services, as well as grain marketing and risk management services. Headquartered in Bloomington, Illinois, GROWMARK owns the FS trademark, which is used by member cooperatives. GROWMARK also owns and operates SEEDWAY, the largest full-line seed company in the United States. More information is available at

About the GROWMARK Foundation:

The GROWMARK Foundation was formally incorporated in 2005 and supports 501(c)(3) not-for-profit charitable organizations. The Foundation is focused on programs and activities which support: the vitality of the industry of agriculture; agriculture education and consumer understanding of agriculture’s contributions to society and the economy; agricultural leadership development; and education about the benefits of the cooperative way of doing business. The GROWMARK System has been involved in a variety of philanthropic efforts, including youth and young leader education and development and scholarships, for decades.

By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: