Dairy MAX Supports Future Leaders With $7,500 In Scholarships

Local dairy council announces 2021 scholarship recipients

GRAND PRAIRIE, Texas – May 18, 2021 – Three students across the region with ties to the dairy industry were awarded a total of $7,500 in scholarships by Dairy MAX. The local dairy council initiated the scholarship program in honor of dairy farmers’ commitments to giving back to their communities and the next generation.

The scholarship recipients for 2021 are Awna Hirsch of Eaton, Colorado, Maeleigh Geijsel of Stephenville, Texas and Benjamin Glass or Floydada, Texas. Each received a $2,500 scholarship toward their college education. Scholarships are awarded based on a combination of scholastic achievement, leadership and involvement in agriculture.

“Dairy farm families have played active roles in their communities for generations,” said Marty McKinzie, Dairy MAX vice president of industry image and relations. “The Dairy MAX scholarship program is a way we can show support to the farm families in our region while investing in the future of the industry. We are honored to recognize these outstanding students.”

Awna Hirsch – Photo courtesy of Dairy MAX

Awna Hirsch grew up on a dairy farm in Eaton and was involved in dairy judging and showing dairy cattle at state, national and international levels. She also developed advocacy skills through other 4-H, FFA, Weld Agricultural Leadership Ambassadors and Dairy MAX projects. Hirsch is a graduate of Eaton High school and studies animal science at the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities.

Benjamin Glass – Photo courtesy of Dairy MAX

Benjamin Glass is a senior at Floydada Collegiate High School where he participated in showing dairy cattle, FFA, 4-H, National Honor Society, UIL contests, band, student council and sports. Glass has been accepted to attend Texas Tech University to study crop biotechnology.

Maeleigh Geijsel – Photo courtesy of Dairy MAX

Maeleigh Geijsel is a freshman at Tarleton State University and graduate of Dublin High School. She grew up on a local dairy farm and was involved in FFA, 4-H and the Erath County Dairy Club where she volunteered in the community. Geijsel is now studying animal science with the goal of working for a dairy technology company and helping farmers innovate.

A total of 24 scholarship applications underwent an in-depth judging process. To be eligible for the Dairy MAX scholarship, students must reside in the Dairy MAX region, be a graduating high school senior or undergraduate student currently enrolled in college and be a child of a dairy farmer, child of a dairy farm employee or an FFA/4-H dairy show participant.

“All three students have big plans to ensure a bright future for the dairy industry, and we are excited to be part of their journey,” said McKinzie.

Investing in the recipients’ education propels dairy forward to continue feeding the world while nourishing communities. The 2022 Dairy MAX Scholarship application will open in January 2022. To see a full list of eligibility requirements and information about applying, visit DairyMAX.org/Dairy/Scholarships.

About Dairy MAX

Founded more than 40 years ago, Dairy MAX is one of the leading regional dairy councils in America – representing more than 900 dairy farmers and serving communities in eight states: Colorado, southwest Kansas, Louisiana, Montana, New Mexico, western Oklahoma, Texas and Wyoming. A nonprofit organization, Dairy MAX is part of a nationwide effort to support dairy farming and drive impact for every dairy farmer, while promoting American agriculture.

The organization operates five audience outreach programs: business development, consumer marketing, health and wellness, industry image and relations and school marketing. For more information about Dairy MAX and its team of experts, visit DairyMAX.org. Dairy resources and delicious recipes are available at DairyDiscoveryZone.com.

By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: