CO Corn: 2021 Legislative Session and Ag Committee Assignments

The first session of the 73rd General Assembly was set to convene on January 13, 2020. However, on December 21 it was announced that while lawmakers will still “gavel in” to swear in new members and address any key business, the actual legislative session will not begin until February 16. Governor Polis also announced that his State of the State address will also be delayed until February.

Committee assignments have been released, and the ag committees for the Colorado House and Senate are as follows:

COLORADO SENATE – Agriculture and Natural Resources

Chair, Sen. Kerry Donovan, D-Edwards

Vice Chair, Sen. Jessie Danielson, D-Lakewood

Senator Rhonda Fields, D-Aurora

Senator Jerry Sonnenberg, R-Sterling

Senator Don Coram, R-Montrose

COLORADO HOUSE – Agriculture, Livestock, and Water Committee

  • Chair, Rep. Jeni Arndt, D-Fort Collins
  • Vice Chair, Rep.-elect Karen McCormick, D-Longmont
  • Rep. Lisa Cutter, D-Jefferson County
  • Rep. Susan Lontine, D-Denver
  • Rep. Barbara McLachlan, D-Durango
  • Rep. Dylan Roberts, D-Avon
  • Rep. Donald Valdez, D-La Jara
  • Rep. Marc Catlin, R-Montrose
  • Rep. Richard Holtorf, R-Akron
  • Rep. Rod Pelton, R-Cheyenne Wells
  • Rep. Perry Will, R-New Castle

The Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) oversees how Colorado’s corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of grain corn produced in Colorado) are invested in research, market development, outreach and other various endeavors. Learn more about the work of our organization at

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.