Colorado’s Electors Meet to Cast Votes for President and Vice President

Today, Governor Jared Polis and Secretary of State Jena Griswold joined Colorado’s nine presidential electors at the state capitol as the electors cast their votes for President and Vice President of the United States. Under current Colorado law, each presidential elector must vote for the presidential and vice presidential candidates who received the highest number of votes in Colorado’s General Election. Today, all nine electors cast their ballots for Vice President Joe Biden and Senator Kamala Harris.

“Colorado’s safe and secure elections are a model for our country, and today our state’s electors made the results of the 2020 election official,” said Governor Jared Polis. “I thank Sec. Griswold and Colorado Supreme Court Chief Justice Nathan B. Coates for presiding over today’s certification.”

“The electoral ballots cast today are the final votes that will be cast in an election year unlike any other in our nation’s history,” Colorado Secretary of State Jena Griswold said. “By awarding Colorado’s electoral votes to the winner of our state’s election for president and vice president, electors play an important role in reaffirming the democratic principle that the people—everyday American people—decide the leaders of the United States.”

The Electoral College is a group of 538 people, chosen by the states and the District of Columbia, that are responsible for electing the President and Vice President of the United States. States are allocated electors based on their number of Congressional legislators. For example, Colorado is entitled to nine electors because it has two members of the U.S. Senate and seven members of the U.S. House of Representatives.

When a voter casts a vote for a presidential ticket, the voter is casting a vote for the slate of electors that was chosen to represent that ticket in the Electoral College. In Colorado, political parties nominate their Electoral College electors during the state party conventions.

The following are electors casting votes today on behalf of Colorado: Anita Lynch, Denver; Jerad Sutton, Greeley; Judith Ingelido, Colorado Springs; Bryan Hartmann, Highlands Ranch; Roger Fang, Denver; Victoria Marquesen, Pueblo; Susan McFaddin, Fort Collins; Polly Baca, Denver; Alan Kennedy, Denver.

For more election-related information, please visit

Colorado Secretary of State Jena Griswold

1700 Broadway, Suite 200, Denver CO 80290  |  303-894-2200

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.