Colorado Senate Democrats Unveil 2021 Committee Assignments

Center women and leaders of color

DENVER – Today, Senate Majority Leader Steve Fenberg, D-Boulder, released the committee assignments for the 2021 legislative session – appointing five new Chairs and five new Vice Chairs to the ten Senate committees of reference.

The Senate remains committed to fighting for all Coloradans, and to do that we must come together and ensure that every single voice is heard – from the Western Slope to the Front Range,” said Majority Leader Steve Fenberg, D-Boulder. “I am confident that our committee assignments will truly represent our residents’ interests and values, as we seek to amplify the voices of those who have been historically left out of the conversation. If we truly want to make lasting change, then we must choose leaders that reflect the make-up of our communities – centering women and people of color – as we work towards a more just and equitable future.”

Sen. Chris Hansen, D-Denver will serve as the Chair of the Appropriations Committee and Sen. Dominick Moreno, D-Denver will remain Vice Chair. Sen. Robert Rodriquez, D-Denver will now Chair Business, Labor & Technology and Sen. Jessie Danielson will continue as Vice Chair of the Committee. Sen. Rachel Zenzinger, D-Arvada will Chair Education and Sen. Tammy Story will remain Vice Chair. Sen. Brittany Pettersen, D-Lakewood will Chair the Finance Committee and Sen. Jeff Bridges, D-Greenwood Village will become the Vice Chair. Sen. Julie Gonzales, D-Denver will Chair State, Veterans & Military Affairs and Senator-elect James Coleman, D-Denver will serve as Vice Chair. Sen. Pete Lee, D-Colorado Springs will continue serving as Chair of the Judiciary Committee and Senator Julie Gonzales will continue as Vice Chair. 

Sen. Kerry Donovan, D-Vail will maintain her position as Chair of the Agriculture & Natural Resources Committee and Sen. Jessie Danielson, D-Wheat Ridge will continue her role as Vice Chair of the Committee. Sen. Rhonda Fields, D-Aurora will also continue as Chair of the Health and Human Services Committee and Sen. Joann Ginal, D-Fort Collins will assume the role of Vice Chair for the Committee. Sen. Faith Winter, D-Westminster will again Chair the Transportation and Energy Committee and Sen. Brittany Pettersen, D-Lakewood will now serve as Vice Chair the Committee. Sen. Joann Ginal will also serve as Chair of Local Government while Sen. Tammy Story, D-Evergreen will now become Vice Chair. 

The remaining Democratic membership of Senate Committees are listed below:

Agriculture and Natural Resources       
Senator Kerry Donovan – Chair
Senator Jessie Danielson – Vice Chair
Senator Rhonda Fields   
Health and Human Services
Senator Rhonda Fields – Chair
Senator Joann Ginal – Vice Chair
Senator-elect Sonya Jaquez-Lewis
Senator-elect Janet Buckner
Committee on Appropriations
Senator Chris Hansen – Chair   
Senator Dominick Moreno – Vice Chair
Senator-elect James Coleman          
Senator Julie Gonzales   
Senator Pete Lee – Chair
Senator Julie Gonzales – Vice Chair
Senator Robert Rodriguez
 Business, Labor and Technology
Senator Robert Rodriguez – Chair
Senator Jessie Danielson – Vice Chair
Senator-elect Chris Kolker
Senator-elect James Coleman
 Local Government
Senator Joann Ginal – Chair
Senator Tammy Story – Vice Chair
Senator-elect Chris Kolker
Senator Rachel Zenzinger – Chair
Senator Tammy Story – Vice Chair
Senator-elect Janet Buckner
Senator Jeff Bridges
State, Veterans and Military Affairs
Senator Julie Gonzales – Chair
Senator-elect James Coleman – Vice Chair   
Senator-elect Sonya Jaquez-Lewis
Senator Brittany Pettersen – Chair
Senator Jeff Bridges – Vice Chair
Senator Pete Lee
Senator Faith Winter
Transportation and Energy
Senator Faith Winter – Chair
Senator Brittany Pettersen – Vice Chair
Senator Kerry Donovan
Senator Rachel Zenzinger

About the Colorado Senate Democrats
The 20-member Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2021 legislative session includes Senators Leroy Garcia, Kerry Donovan, Pete Lee, Tammy Story, Julie Gonzales, Stephen Fenberg, Rachel Zenzinger, Jessie Danielson, Dominick Moreno, Brittany Pettersen, Jeff Bridges, Faith Winter, Janet Buckner, Joann Ginal, Sonya Jaquez Lewis, James Coleman, Rhonda Fields, Chris Hansen, Chris Kolker, and Robert Rodriguez.

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.