CDA: Applications Being Accepted for Colorado Ag Commission

Friends of Colorado Agriculture, 

Applications are currently being accepted by the Governor’s Office of Boards and Commissions for numerous state advisory roles, including for upcoming positions on the Colorado Agricultural Commission. For all boards and commissions, we strongly encourage interested parties to apply at any time. For the upcoming Ag Commission seats, I encourage you to apply as early as possible, with a target application date of December 7, 2020. The Colorado Agricultural Commission is comprised of nine members who are currently, or were previously, actively engaged in the business of agriculture and associated activities. Representation is needed from all areas of the state (see agricultural district information below) and a balance of political parties.   

Key duties of the commission include:

  • Formulating general policy with respect to the management of the Colorado Department of Agriculture
  • Advising and making recommendations to the Commissioner of Agriculture, the Governor and the General Assembly on matters pertaining to agriculture
  • Reviewing and adopting Colorado Department of Agriculture budgets
  • Approving all rules and regulations adopted by the Commissioner of Agriculture
  • Establishing and appointing advisory committees
  • Setting fees to carry out the Department of Agriculture’s statutory provisions
Kate Greenberg, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture 

 Members of the Ag Commission are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Colorado Senate. The commission is required to meet quarterly and currently holds monthly meetings. Members are reimbursed for mileage and lodging expenses when traveling for meetings. The terms for the available commission seats will begin on March 1, 2021.  Those interested in applying for the commission should complete an online application here. Please contact Jenifer Gurr at or 303-869-9002 with questions or for additional information.  

Thank you for your consideration and interest in being part of your state Department of Agriculture. 

Kate Greenberg, Colorado Commissioner of Agriculture 

Colorado Agricultural Districts

For purposes of representation on the state Agricultural Commission 

Agricultural District 1 – The city and county of Denver and Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, and Jefferson counties. 

Agricultural District 2 – Boulder, Cheyenne, Clear Creek, Elbert, Gilpin, Kit Carson, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Phillips, Sedgwick, Washington, Weld, and Yuma counties.

Agricultural District 3 – Alamosa, Baca, Bent, Conejos, Costilla, Crowley, Custer, El Paso, Fremont, Huerfano, Kiowa, Las Animas, Mineral, Otero, Prowers, Pueblo, Rio Grande, Saguache, and Teller counties. 

Agricultural District 4 – Archuleta, Chaffee, Delta, Dolores, Eagle, Garfield, Grand, Gunnison, Hinsdale, Jackson, Lake, La Plata, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Ouray, Park, Pitkin, Rio Blanco, Routt, San Juan, San Miguel, and Summit counties.

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.