USDA Announces United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board Appointments

*CORRECTED* WASHINGTON, DC (September 24, 2020) – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today announced the appointment of five members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board. All five appointees will serve three-year terms starting December 2020 and ending December 2023.

According to the USDA press release, the sorghum farmers appointed to the board are: 

  • Klint G. Stewart, Columbus, Nebraska, At-Large Member
  • Ethan J. Miller, Columbia, Missouri, At-Large Member
  • James Jay Haase, Eads, Colorado, At-Large Member
  • Shayne C. Suppes, Scott City, Kansas, Kansas Member
  • Charles Ray Huddleston, Celina, Texas, Texas Member

The 13-member United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent the three states with the largest sorghum production – Kansas, Texas and Oklahoma – and four at-large national representatives. More information about the board is available on the Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) United Sorghum Checkoff Program webpage and on the board’s website,

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.