USDA Completes Appointments to Food Safety Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON, Sept. 18, 2020 – The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) today announced the appointment of 10 members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI).

“USDA is excited to announce the final 10 committee members to NACMPI,” said Under Secretary for Food Safety Dr. Mindy Brashears. “Together these 20 members represent a multitude of perspectives and bring a variety of expertise to the committee. Their knowledge and advice will play a key role in informing USDA’s food safety decisions to ensure the U.S. continues to have one of the safest food systems in the world.”

The new NACMPI members appointed to serve two-year terms are:

  • Mr. Gregory Gunthorp, Gunthorp Farms
  • Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball, LLC
  • Dr. Denise Perry, Lorentz Meats
  • Ms. Sarah Sorscher, Center for Science in the Public Interest
  • Ms. Teresa Schwartz, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention (ret.)

Five previous NACMPI members’ terms were extended by one year:

  • Dr. Amilton De Mello, University of Nevada
  • Mr. Thomas Gremillion, Consumer Federation of America
  • Mr. James Jenkins, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry
  • Ms. Tina Rendon, Pilgrim’s Pride Corp.
  • Ms. Kimberly Rice, Rose Acre Farms

See the full list of NACMPI members.


NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA’s Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS). NACMPI is an advisory committee that advises on food safety concerns and other matters affecting inspection program activities, including food safety policies that will contribute to USDA’s regulatory policy development. More information on NACMPI is available on the FSIS website.


By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.