Back from left to right: Ed Staunton of Tulelake, California; Heidi Randall of Friesland, Wisconsin; Steve Streich of Kalispell, Montana; Chris Hansen of Bliss, New York; Steve Elfering of Idaho Falls, Idaho; Jeff Jennings of Camden, North Carolina; and Blair Richardson, Potatoes USA CEO. Front: Mike Carter of Rosholt, Wisconsin; Phil Hickman of Horntown, Virginia; Marty Myers of Boardman, Oregon; Jaren Raybould of Saint Anthony, Idaho; and Jared Smith of Alamosa, Colorado.

Potatoes USA Elects 2020-2021 Leadership

DENVER (March 27, 2020) — Potatoes USA, the marketing and promotion board for the U.S. potato industry, elected its new leadership during its 48th Annual Meeting on March 11. The newly elected Chairman and Executive Committee will lead the 99 board members through 2020-2021.

Marty Myers of Boardman, Oregon was elected Chairman of the Board. Prior to this role, Myers served a six-year term on the board from 2010-2016 and co-chaired the International Marketing Committee for two of those years. He began his current term on the board in 2017 and co-chaired the International Marketing Committee for another three years.

Myers has been in the potato industry for 24 years and currently works for Threemile Canyon Farms, focusing on the chip, frozen and seed sectors. He is also R.D. Offutt Company’s Western Business Manager for Farming and Agriculture, where he oversees operations in Oregon, Washington and Nevada.

“It’s all about the great people in this industry,” Myers said when asked what he enjoys most about his work. “The potato industry truly is unique; it is a young, vibrant and diverse group.”

Myers said that as chairman, he is looking forward to working with the Executive and Administration Committees and the Potatoes USA staff to build on the great work that was done last year. He is also looking forward to working with growers from different regions across the U.S.

In addition to Myers, Potatoes USA’s 2020-2021 Executive Committee members are:

  • Jeff Jennings of Camden, North Carolina, Chair of the Finance & Policy Committee
  • Ed Staunton of Tulelake, California and Steve Streich of Kalispell, Montana, Co-Chairs of the International Marketing Committee
  • Mike Carter of Rosholt, Wisconsin and Heidi Randall of Friesland, Wisconsin, Co-Chairs of the Industry Outreach Committee
  • Steve Elfering of Idaho Falls, Idaho and Jaren Raybould of Saint Anthony, Idaho, Co-Chairs of the Domestic Marketing Committee
  • Chris Hansen of Bliss, New York and Jared Smith of Alamosa, Colorado, Co-Chairs of the Research Committee
  • Phil Hickman of Horntown, Virginia, Past Chairman

Myers said that up until this month, his main goal as chairman was to increase outreach to the processing community. With the impact of COVID-19 however, Myers’ priorities are shifting gears. “My main goal now is helping the U.S. to fulfill the potato needs of the American people, and helping the potato industry through this difficult time,” Myers said.

Outside of his work in the potato industry, Myers works in dairy, organic crop production and renewable energy. He also enjoys golfing and spending time with family and friends.

To download a copy of this press release, click here.

About Potatoes USA

Potatoes USA is the marketing organization for the 2,500 commercial potato growers operating in the United States. Potatoes USA, was established in 1971 by a group of potato growers to promote the benefits of eating potatoes. Today, as the largest vegetable commodity board, Potatoes USA is proud to be recognized as an innovator in the produce industry. For more information on Potatoes USA’s mission to “Strengthen Demand for U.S. Potatoes” by creating positive change in the industry through innovative and inspiring approaches, please visit

By Brian Allmer - The BARN

Brian Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.