Colorado Senate Votes to Advance FY 2019-2020 Budget

Denver, CO – The Colorado State Senate voted today 29-6 to pass the FY 2019-2020 Long Bill on third reading. The budget will now head to the House Appropriations Committee for consideration.

“A budget is a reflection of our state’s values, and I believe we can confidently say to any Coloradan, in every corner of the state, that this budget has victories for everyone,” said President Leroy Garcia (D-Pueblo). “I am so grateful to the members of the Joint Budget Committee who worked tirelessly for months on this budget and had to make some very difficult decisions to ensure that taxpayer dollars are spent responsibly and in the best interests of all Coloradans.”

“Shortly after November’s election, the Joint Budget Committee went to work – dedicating months to figuring out what in the budget works, what does not, and what we need to prioritize in order to get to where we are today,” said JBC Chair Senator Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City). “While there is still more work to do, I’m proud that we were able to open up the budget process to the public, incorporate bipartisan amendments, and stand up for our priorities. I am confident that when the process is over, this budget will help our state thrive.”

“Writing the budget was very difficult, but it is the best piece of legislation that I have ever had the honor of working on,” said JBC Member Rachel Zenzinger (D-Arvada). “This budget, which passed with bipartisan support, represents a process of negotiation, accommodation, and collaboration. It not only sets a prudent foundation for Colorado’s prosperity, but it tells the story of how Colorado at her best gets the job done. We fiercely stand for our independent values while constructively standing together for our shared future.”

“I want to thank our members of the Joint Budget Committee who work on the budget every single day. We still have work to do, but I am extremely proud of this budget and the priorities we will deliver to the people of Colorado,” said Majority Leader Steve Fenberg (D-Boulder).

The version of the bill passed by the Senate contains eight amendments, including J.072, a compromise between Democrats and Republicans to increase transportation funding. The other amendments that passed include J.054, J.061, J.046, J.053, J.038, J.044, and J.062. To learn more about the long bill and the amendments that were adopted, please visit

About the Colorado Senate Democrats
The 19 member Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2019 legislative session includes Senators Leroy Garcia, Kerry Donovan, Pete Lee, Joann Ginal, Tammy Story, Mike Foote, Stephen Fenberg, Rachel Zenzinger, Jessie Danielson, Dominick Moreno, Brittany Pettersen, Faith Winter, Jeff Bridges, Nancy Todd, Rhonda Fields, Lois Court, Robert Rodriguez, Angela Williams, and Julie Gonzales.

By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: