Colorado State Senate Passes Net Neutrality Legislation

Denver, COThe Colorado State Senate today voted 19-to-15 with one excused to pass SB19-078, Open Internet Customer Protections in Colorado, a bill to make sure that broadband infrastructure funded by the citizens of Colorado will adhere to fair and open internet practices. The bill, sponsored by Senators Kerry Donovan (D-Vail) and Jeff Bridges (D-Arapahoe County), now heads to the House for consideration.

“Private companies that use state dollars to build out their broadband networks shouldn’t dictate who gets fast internet and who doesn’t. Coloradans rely on the internet every day and deserve the same level of access to those networks, no matter what corner of the state you live in,” said Senator Donovan. “This legislation ensures equal access to the internet, which is why I am confident it will pass the House, and I urge Governor Polis to sign net neutrality into law.”

“The passage of net neutrality ensures that every Coloradan, no matter where you live, gets a fair shot,” said Senator Bridges. “This legislation will benefit Coloradans who rely on the internet for everyday tasks and small businesses who need it to innovate and grow our Colorado economy.”

SB19-078 will help protect net neutrality in Colorado by disqualifying internet service providers that interfere with the open internet from receiving financial support from the state. To learn more about SB19-078, please visit

About the Colorado Senate Democrats
The 19 member Senate Democratic Caucus for the 2019 legislative session includes Senators Leroy Garcia, Kerry Donovan, Pete Lee, Joann Ginal, Tammy Story, Mike Foote, Stephen Fenberg, Rachel Zenzinger, Jessie Danielson, Dominick Moreno, Brittany Pettersen, Faith Winter, Jeff Bridges, Nancy Todd, Rhonda Fields, Lois Court, Robert Rodriguez, Angela Williams, and Julie Gonzales.

By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: