Meat Industry Hall of Fame inducts 7 new members

ATLANTA, GA – February 12, 2019 – The Meat Industry Hall of Fame formally inducted its newest members at a ceremony on February 11 in Atlanta, Ga. The ceremony was attended by friends, family and industry leaders, who welcomed the Class of 2018 into the Hall.

The ceremony was hosted by Andy Hanacek, editor-in-chief of The National Provisioner. Julie Anna Potts, the new CEO of the North American Meat Institute, delivered the keynote address and discussed her introduction to the meat industry. A former executive with the American Farm Bureau Federation, Potts and her predecessor, Barry Carpenter, toured multiple meat plants and spoke with many industry leaders to give her an understanding about the opportunities and challenges that face the industry.

The members of the Meat Industry Hall of Fame Class of 2018 are:

— Rod Bowling, ag marketing specialist, USDA-AMS; owner, AgriFood Solutions International

— Neil Genshaft, CEO, Fresh Mark

— Ronald Miniat, chairman of the board, Miniat Holdings (deceased)

— Elsa Murano, director, Borlaug Institute; past president, Texas A&M University

— James Riemann, Assistant Secretary, Kansas Dept. of Agriculture (retired); past president, Certified Angus Beef LLC

— Mike Satzow, executive vice president, North Country Smokehouse

— Jimmy Wise, Meat Judging Program Coordinator, American Meat Science Association (retired); ag marketing specialist, USDA-AMS

Upon being welcomed into the Hall, each honoree spoke about their beginnings, the people who helped them along their way, and the philosophies that they have adhered to in their business life. Ron Miniat, who passed away on December 20, 2018, was present in the form of a tribute video that had been filmed prior to his death. His award was accepted by his son, David.

For more information about the Meat Industry Hall of Fame, please visit


By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: