CO Corn: 2018 Farm Bill Passes Senate, Heads to The House

Dec. 12, 2018 – Monday afternoon the House and Senate Agriculture committees and Congressional leadership released the conference report for the “Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018. Tuesday, the Senate passed the bill with 87 to 13 votes. Colorado Corn Growers Association is pleased with the bills broad support and requests the House approve the bill so it can be enacted before Congress adjourns.
“Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) appreciates the bipartisan support from Colorado Senators Bennet and Gardner and their role in keeping the farm bill on schedule,” stated CCGA President Dave Eckhardt. “Agriculture is dealing with depressed commodity prices and significant natural disasters have taken their toll on the bottom line of farming operations across country. Timely passage of the 2018 Farm Bill will help producers plan for the next five years.”
A summary of provisions in the bill of particular interest to grain corn farmers will be included in the Kernels announcement following the bill’s passage in the House.
Who is Colorado Corn?
Colorado Corn, based in Greeley, is made up of the Colorado Corn Administrative Committee and the Colorado Corn Growers Association. The Colorado Corn Administrative Committee (CCAC) oversees how Colorado’s corn check-off dollars (one penny per bushel of grain corn produced in Colorado) are invested in research, market development, outreach and other various endeavors. The Colorado Corn Growers Association (CCGA) is comprised of dues-paying members who are politically active, focusing on policy that impacts corn producers and agriculture in general. Learn more about the work of the two organizations at

By Tucker Allmer - The BARN

Tucker Allmer & the BARN are members of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB), the Colorado FFA Foundation, the Colorado 4H Foundation, the Colorado Farm Show Marketing Committee, 1867 Club Board Member, Denver Ag & Livestock Club Member, the Weld County Fair Board, the Briggsdale FFA Advisory Council, Briggsdale 4H Club Beef Leader & Founder / Coordinator of the Briggsdale Classic Open Jackpot Show.

%d bloggers like this: